hope and venice.

by kinsleyjkoons

I am still here in Ireland, and I am safe, and healthy, and learning. It is still beautiful everywhere I look, and I am still (maybe too much so) introspective about growing up, who I am, and who I am becoming and blah blah blah. However, in an attempt to jot down some of my thoughts, and keep you all (my mom) updated on my life, here is what I have been thinking about lately. 

hope.

A few conversations here, and a few beautiful places there have begun a slight obsession with the idea of hope. What does it mean? What does it mean to possess it? Where does it come from? What does it represent? All of these questions are ones that I have been thinking about. In Christianity, and think that maybe the word hope is one of those that has fallen victim to emptiness. Ya know, the words that have become so christianized, that we no longer really know what the mean? So, I went to the source, webster. And Webster says that hope is, “to desire with expectation of obtainment, OR to cherish a desire with anticipation.” For whatever reason, when I read this combination of words that were all strung together, I felt some of those figurative lights in my head go on, and join with the ones that were already attempting to illuminate my brain. 

What do I think hope is? I think that hope is the reflection of our capacity for beauty. It is the representation of our belief that there is more coming. By hoping, we recognize the current beauty in our lives, and we acknowledge that there is more of it. we desire with the total acknowledgment of inevitable fulfillment. 

And this understanding of hope is why we must love each other in a way that gives us hope. We must love with the expectation that we will receive it. And we must love in a way that sparks a knowledge of it in other people, and a confidence that there is more, and that it will be fulfilled. 

So, be hopeful. 

 

I went to Venice a week ago. Here are some pictures that I took. 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

